## Hnited States Senate WASHINGTON, DC 20510-0908

June 21, 2023

The Honorable Antony Blinken Secretary of State U.S. Department of State 2201 C Street, NW Washington, D.C. 20520 The Honorable Alejandro Mayorkas Secretary U.S. Department of Homeland Security 245 Murray Lane, SW Washington D.C. 20528

Dear Secretaries Blinken and Mayorkas:

We write to express our support for efforts to include Israel in the Visa Waiver Program (VWP) and to encourage both the Department of State and the Department of Homeland Security to prioritize finalizing Israel's accession this year.

Approximately 450,000 Israelis travel annually to the U.S., and that number has been increasing each year. With 93 weekly direct flights from Israel to U.S. airports, there is already significant demand for travel. As such, Israel's participation in VWP would significantly increase the potential for both tourism and business travel.

In pursuit of these benefits for both countries, the Department of State and the Department of Homeland Security – particularly Ambassador Nides and the entire staff at the U.S. Embassy in Israel – and the Government of Israel have all worked diligently to enable Israel's eligibility for VWP. In January, Israel's non-immigrant visa refusal rate fell below 3%, satisfying one key requirement of eligibility for the program, and since that time the Government of Israel has been working to implement the necessary technical requirements for inclusion. Finally, Israel's parliament has passed all of the legislation to facilitate requisite data sharing, which underscores Israel's commitment to meeting the necessary benchmarks and gaining admission into VWP.

We recognize that there are still outstanding issues that must be addressed before Israel's participation in the program can be finalized, and we urge both sides to continue working toward addressing these issues – including the reciprocal treatment of U.S. citizens - to ensure Israel's compliance with all program requirements before the deadline of September 30, 2023. The Honorable Antony Blinken The Honorable Alejandro Mayorkas June 21, 2023 Page Two

We hope that the Department of State and the Department of Homeland Security will continue efforts to ensure that the momentum that has yielded the aforementioned progress is not lost, and that Israel's accession to VWP is finalized this year.

Sincerely,

Rick Scott United States Senator

John Thune United States Senator

James E. Risch United States Senator

Roger F. Wicker United States Senator

Joni K. Ernst United States Senator

Jacky Rosen United States Senator

att

Patty Murray United States Senator

Debbie Stabenow United States Senator

lihar 1 Stem

Richard Blumenthal United States Senator

Maggie Hassan United States Senator

The Honorable Antony Blinken The Honorable Alejandro Mayorkas June 21, 2023 Page Three

ck Grassle

Chuck Grassley United States Senator

Mike Bru

Mike Braun United States Senator

Marco Rubio United States Senator

Mike Crapo

United States Senator

Roger Marshall, M.D.

United States Senator

iller More ap

Shelley Moore Capito United States Senator

Alex Padilla United States Senator

Joe Manchin III United States Senator

Wyde

Ron Wyden United States Senator

Kirsten E. Gillibrand United States Senator

John W. Hickenlooper United States Senator

En Cardin

Benjamin L. Cardin United States Senator

The Honorable Antony Blinken The Honorable Alejandro Mayorkas June 21, 2023 Page Four

Bill Cassidy, M.D.

United States Senator

. I . .

Thom Tillis United States Senator

can Jerry Moran

United States Senator

John Hoeven United States Senator

Kevin Cramer United States Senator



United States Senator

Christopher A. Coons United States Senator

Michael F. Bennet United States Senator

Catherine Cortez Masto

Catherine Cortez Maste United States Senator

an

Mark Kelly United States Senator

John Fetterman United States Senator

Kyrsten Sinema United States Senator

The Honorable Antony Blinken The Honorable Alejandro Mayorkas June 21, 2023 Page Five

ohn Bozman

John Boozman United States Senator

Ted Budd United States Senator

Todd Young

Todd Young United States Senator

Harsha Mackburn

Marsha Blackburn United States Senator

John Kennedy United States Senator



Tom Cotton United States Senator

for Test

Jon Tester United States Senator

Maria Cantwell United States Senator

- love

Robert P. Casey, Jr. United States Senator

Cory A. Booker United States Senator

R Wines

Mark R. Warner United States Senator

Christopher Murphy United States Senator

The Honorable Antony Blinken The Honorable Alejandro Mayorkas June 21, 2023 Page Six

Katie Boyd Britt United States Senator

Steve Daines United States Senator

Bill Hagerty United States Senator

Pete Ricketts

United States Senator

Mike Lee United States Senator

が Vance United States Senator

C beten

Gary C. Peters United States Senator

Angus S. King, Jr. United States Senator

UNW-S

Raphael G. Warnock United States Senator

Tim Scott United States Senator

Cindy Hyde-Smith United States Senator

James Lankford

James Lankford United States Senator

The Honorable Antony Blinken The Honorable Alejandro Mayorkas June 21, 2023 Page Seven

anbourde

Lisa Murkowski United States Senator

11:1

Markwayne Mullin United States Senator

Suran M Collins

Susan M. Collins United States Senator

Mitt Romney

United States Senator

Eric Schmitt United States Senator

OV

John Cornyn United States Senator

Lindsey O. Graham United States Senator