^{118TH CONGRESS} ^{1ST SESSION} S. RES.

Congratulating the Florida State University Seminoles for winning the 2023 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Women's Soccer Championship.

IN THE SENATE OF THE UNITED STATES

Mr. SCOTT of Florida (for himself and Mr. RUBIO) submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on ______

RESOLUTION

- Congratulating the Florida State University Seminoles for winning the 2023 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Women's Soccer Championship.
- Whereas, on December 4, 2023, the Florida State University Seminoles women's soccer team won the 2023 National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I Women's Soccer Championship;
- Whereas the Seminoles defeated the Stanford University women's soccer team by a score of 5 goals to 1 in the NCAA Division I Women's Soccer College Cup;
- Whereas this marks the fourth NCAA Division I Women's Soccer Championship the Seminoles have won;

2

- Whereas the Seminoles finished the season undefeated for the first time in school history with a record of 22 wins, 0 losses, and 1 tie;
- Whereas the Seminoles are 1 of only 4 schools to finish a season undefeated in NCAA history;
- Whereas this marks the 18th national title for the Florida State University Seminoles Athletics program;
- Whereas the Seminoles had 6 ACC All-Conference selections and 5 NCAA Division I Women's All-Americans on the first, second, and third teams;

Whereas Seminoles senior midfielder Onyi Echegini—

(1) earned 2023 ACC Offensive Player of the Year
and was selected to the ACC All-Conference First Team;
(2) was named the 2023 Ally ACC Women's Soccer
Championship Tournament Most Valuable Player; and

(3) was selected to the 2023 United Soccer Coaches NCAA Division I Women's All-America First Team;

Whereas Seminoles freshman forward Jordynn Dudley—

(1) earned 2023 ACC Freshman Player of the Year
and was selected to the ACC All-Conference First Team;
(2) was selected to the 2023 United Soccer Coaches

NCAA Division I Women's All-America First Team; and

(3) earned the 2023 Women's College Cup Most Outstanding Offensive Player Award;

Whereas Seminoles Head Coach Brian Pensky—

(1) won his first Division I Women's Soccer Championship and is only the second coach in school history to win a national championship; and

(2) was named ACC Coach of the Year; and

Whereas the following players, coaches, and support staff contributed to the NCAA Division I Women's Soccer HLA23138 1V4

3

victory: Championship Assistant Coaches Bobby Shuttleworth, Aaron Brunner, Olivia Garcia, and Andrew Hudson; Director of Operations Sarah Buckley; athletic trainer Alora Sullivan; strength and conditioning coach Elisa Angeles; equipment manager Frankie Grizzle-Malgrat; and players Cristina Roque, Taylor Huff, Maggie Taitano, Onyi Echegini, Ran Iwai, Lauren Flynn, Beata Olsson, Jody Brown, Jordynn Dudley, Leilanni Nesbeth, Peyton Nourse, Kaitlyn Zipay, Sophia Nguyen, Mimi Van Zanten, Maria Alagoa, Heather Gilchrist, Olivia Lebdaoui, Claire Rain, Adelyn Todd, and Leah Pais: Now, therefore, be it

1 *Resolved*, That the Senate—

2 (1) congratulates the Florida State University
3 women's soccer team and the students, alumni, fac4 ulty, staff, and trustees of Florida State University,
5 on winning the 2023 National Collegiate Athletic
6 Association Division I Women's Soccer Champion7 ship; and

8 (2) respectfully directs the Secretary of the
9 Senate to transmit an enrolled copy of this resolu10 tion to—

11 (A) the President of Florida State Univer-12 sity, Richard McCullough;

13 (B) the Athletic Director of Florida State14 University, Michael Alford; and

15 (C) the Head Coach of the Florida State16 University women's soccer team, Brian Pensky.